Knit your knowledge right

Posted: January 26, 2012 in connectivism, Education, Learning
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

People don’t copy information. They construct new information.

While I teach my students new things, they construct knowledge in different way. Maybe because the base of construction (their preliminary knowledge) is different.

One incident convinced  me in the correctness of this statement. One day after I finished teaching one year course, I was surprised by  my students, who presented me with a small book of my sayings. Believe me, I didn’t say this.

Not only misunderstandings lead to changing information. Connections that we make between new and old information also create new information. “Connection creates meaning”( Defining Connectivism, G.Siemens). We have reasons to make more connections for our learning.( See my post Web creation). But the question is what type of connection is more beneficial. Let me illustrate by the next pictures.

The left picture demonstrates chaos, the connection of everything to everything. The right picture brings more meaning because it organizes information. When we organize information, we create new information.

Comments
  1. Excelente resumen. Muy clarificador. Gracias por los diagramas.
    Saludos

  2. Keith Hamon says:

    Well, yes, the map on the right is more orderly, but only more of a certain kind of order. The study of complex systems is teaching us that the map on the left also has order, but seldom the kind of order that we expect and seldom explicit order. And even when we teachers present the clear, clean order on the right, our students learn the order on the left. In the right (not necessarily correct) map, few nodes are connected. In the left map, all nodes are connected. I think Connectivism favors the left in this case.

    • Joseph says:

      1. We have reasons to make more connections for our learning. Connections is good for our memory. Than more connections better we remember ( See my post Web creation). It could be good idea to connect everything to everything but we have only one problem we live only for 120. We need to make more connections but the question is what type of connection is more beneficial.
      2. And about pictures I only wanted to say that we recognize (connect) ellipses and rectangles, blue and green. The connections from the right picture help to recognize “pattern in chaos”.
      3. I agree that students learn something different from what we teach but I hope it will not be chaos in their heads.
      4. What connectivism favors I don’t know. I am only beginning the course.

Leave a Reply

