Learning from mistakes

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Education, Learning
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A fear of making a mistake is death for learning to think independently. In my opinion, teacher, facilitator must create atmosphere of freedom. It needs to be explained for students that making mistakes is the way we learn. Everybody makes mistakes. The teacher has to give an example and be able to admit when he doesn’t know something or makes mistake. Moreover, I sometimes make an intentional mistake to explain why my students do not need to accept everything as given.

After I watched  the movie I wrote above and tried to illustrate my thought. I do not know why my pictures said something different.

  A fear of making a mistake is death for learning to think independently.
  In my opinion, teachers and facilitators must create an atmosphere of freedom.
It needs to be explained to students that:

  1. making mistakes is the way we learn.
  2.  everybody makes mistakes.

 

 
  The teacher has to give an example and has to be able to admit when he doesn’t know something or makes a mistake.
I sometimes make an intentional mistake to explain why my students do not need to accept everything as given.  
Comments
  1. Matt says:

    Love this video. Love this one too: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/kathryn_schulz_on_being_wrong.html

    There’s also some great resources for developing learners’ creativity at the University of Georgia’s Torrance Center: http://www.coe.uga.edu/torrance/creativity-resources/

Leave a Reply

